Posted in Movie/TV Reviews

RAPID REVIEW: Pui Pui Molcar on Netflix

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This show is a collection of short stories involving these sentient guinea pig cars. I originally thought they were hamsters, but it was later confirmed in an episode that these are part guinea pig part car/vehicle. There is no voice acting so there is no language/culture barrier to worry about.

This is a show that’s perfect for all ages or even the whole family. It’s also a good palate cleanser for someone who needs something unique and cute that’s pure and innocent.

I would recommend Pui Pui Molcar for fans of Shaun the Sheep and Rilakkuma and Kaoru both are adorable shows with little to no dialogue. Bonus if you enjoy the cloth esthetic that occasionally appears in kids shows.

Follow Me On Social Media Here:

Posted in Audiobooks, Book Reviews, Novels

REVIEW: Captain Moxley and the Embers of the Empire by Dan Hanks

81YsTcAvqrL

*No Major Spoilers*

In post-war 1952, the good guys are supposed to have won. But not everything is as it seems when ex-Spitfire pilot Captain Samantha Moxley is dragged into a fight against the shadowy US government agency she used to work for. Now, with former Nazis and otherworldly monsters on her trail, Captain Moxley is forced into protecting her archaeologist sister in a race to retrieve two ancient keys that will unlock the secrets of a long-lost empire – to ensure a civilization-destroying weapon doesn’t fall into the wrong hands. But what will she have to sacrifice to save the world?


After my initial bad experience I had reading Fury From the Tomb, I was somewhat hesitant to jump into a similar themed novel; ancient artifact(s), adventurous trip around the globe, Indiana Jones-inspired death traps. However Captain Moxley and the Embers of the Empire is what Fury from the Tomb  should have been. So let’s dive into the adventures of Captain Samantha Moxley. 

I love the way the author makes the reader feel like this is just one of many crazy adventures for Captain Moxley. I wanted to hear more of her stories or join her on wacky quests around the globe whether it was during her time with a secret organization called The Nine, or after this story where she is trying to stop the Nine from becoming too powerful. 

Once the action starts, it rarely stops long enough to grow bored. From Captain Amanda Moxley getting shot down mid-air, to arriving in Egypt on the run from The Nine. Amanda and her entourage are on the run to keep two ancient artifacts out of the bad guys’ hands.

However, as much as I want to rave about this novel I do have one small negative. If you have been reading my reviews for awhile you can probably guess I’m about to talk about the plot twist. I saw this one coming a mile away. I won’t spoil what the plot twist was, but it’s my only complaint about Captain Moxley and the Embers of the Empire.

Overall, I enjoyed this globe-trotting adventure to save the world from evil. I would highly recommend this novel for lovers of adventures, Egyptology, and are a fan of The Atlantis Code by Charles Brokaw. I know I’m giving a light spoiler by the title, but trust me. If you want more adventure then check out The Atlantis Code or vice versa.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Social Media Links Here:

Posted in Audiobooks, Book Reviews, Novels

REVIEW: The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett

91CR-OTIWML

*No Major Spoilers*

The Thin Man introduces Nick and Nora Charles, New York’s coolest crime-solving couple. Nick retired from detecting after his wife inherited a tidy sum, but six years later a pretty blonde spies him at a speakeasy and asks for his help finding her father, an eccentric inventor who was once Nick’s client. Nick can no more resist the case than a morning cocktail or a good fight, and soon he and Nora are caught in a complicated web of confused identities and cold-blooded murder.

I am a huge fan of crime noir, and this story takes place on the tail end of Prohibition. So if you love your mysteries with lots of illicit booze and over-dramatic women, then I would recommend The Thin Man for your reading list.

I enjoyed the first half of this mystery novel. The mystery was intriguing and I was trying to solve the puzzle along with Nick and Nora. There’s quite the cast of characters that would make any Agatha Christie fan enjoy this novel.

However, the drama with the suspect’s family got to be too much for me and I just stopped caring. Nick had already reached the conclusion that the ex-wife’s new husband had something to do with the murder and once the police were on the look for him and the ex-husband the family drama kept going and I mentally checked out until the end of the story.

The ending would’ve been a nice twist and a surprising ending. To see Nick explain in full detail to Nora about how the bad guy(s) committed the crime and almost got away with multiple cold-blooded murders was interesting. However, I feel like I was over this novel once the initial hunch was made clear and the family drama kept dragging on.

This is a quick read or listen depending on your preferred medium. I got through about half of the audiobook in one night, so if you’re looking for a crime noir to whet your appetite then check out The Thin Man.

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Posted in Personal Blogs

Happy Thanksgiving!

b25lY21zOmRiZTg4M2EwLThhYTEtNDM0YS1iMmUyLWE0ZjA3NmVkMTQ4ZDo0NjZkMjk5OS1mNmUyLTQ3NGQtYWVhYS05ZDZmZjJiNTA3Nzc=

I hope everyone has a happy and safe Thanksgiving this year! I know 2020 has been tough on everyone, and so I just want everyone to be able to safely enjoy Thanksgiving with friends and family.

That being said, I’m hoping to have a blog update coming up. I know I have been radio silent this month, but there’s a reason for that. However, for now let’s enjoy some quality time whether you’re spending it with family or not. Either way, just stay safe.